Caitlin: Teen Diabetes

meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

When were you diagnosed and with what type of diabetes?

I was diagnosed when I was 7 years old on November 13, 2004 with type one diabetes

Does diabetes define who you are?

Diabetes defiantly plays a big part of how I am but does not define me. Diabetes helps me view things differently than other people

How has diabetes affected your high school experience?

11058084_10153102591279965_4201670657302255517_nHonestly diabetes hasn’t affected my high school experience. Of course I’ve had to sit out for a little bit participating in activities while I chug back a juice box or two, but other than that it hasn’t really affected me. Although all my friends love that I had juice boxes in my locker always

Why did you start blogging?

I started blogging because in my small city of Sault Ste Marie Ontario,Canada there was not any type one diabetics in my age group,let alone many type one diabetics, so I decided to turn to the internet and got loads of positive feedback.

How has getting involved in the diabetic community helped you deal with your diagnosis?

It has helped me know that I am not the only one that struggles with being a diabetic. People see you as a healthy person, then you tell them that you are diabetic they automatically assume type two; that you just have to watch what you eat and take your blood sugar. When in reality it taking your sugar at least 3 times daily, eating, taking care of lows and highs, being tired, waking up through the 11218751_10154036325144129_3438217387330541119_nnight to check your sugar. There is a lot to diabetes that doesn’t meet the eye

What is the best advice you would give to a newly diagnosed person?

I would tell them “Relax. Your life is not over. It will be tricky at the beginning but eventually it will work itself out. I’ve been diabetic for 11 years and I’m learning new things each day and I still struggle.

Keep up with new stories about Caitlin by following her blog. You can also get to know Caitlin better by liking her Facebook, twitter, and Instagram!

2 thoughts on “Caitlin: Teen Diabetes

  1. This is terrible. Don't you want more views YouTube so you can sell more adenitisrvg? Crappy random thumbnails will just decrease views so what's the point.

    Like

  2. medical practice marketing…The core of your writing whilst appearing reasonable in the beginning, did not settle properly with me personally after some time. Somewhere within the sentences you were able to make me a believer but just for a while. I still have a problem with your…

    Like

Leave a Reply

