Ashley: A Dietitian with Diabetes

Side profile

When were you diagnosed and with what type of diabetes?

“My diagnosis is a long story. I was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes when I was 19, but was told from the start I didn’t fit neatly into the type 1 or type 2 categories. It didn’t matter at first until I was told about the insulin pump. I realized then that our government only subsidized insulin pump consumables for people with type 1 diabetes and gestational diabetes, I kept asking to be reclassified as a type 1 but was told I was in denial about my diabetes. Like what even? Eventually I found an endo who reclassified me based on a technicality that I am insulin deficient not resistant. So that was a major win. I’m currently looking into genetic testing to see if it’s MODY.”

Has diabetes ever affected your schooling or career?

“Diabetes hasn’t affected my schooling or career but it has definitely influenced it. Going through the health care system inspired me to get into diabetes education. I was diagnosed in my second year at university doing my undergraduate degree. I went on to explore research with an honours year, became a dietitian after my master’s degree and am now further pursuing research through a PhD in diabetes education for young adults.”

Why did you start blogging?

“I started blogging as way to de-stress and unwind. I like to write my thoughts and observations down. After becoming more involved in the diabetes community through volunteering, I started to write more about diabetes. Through there I found the Diabetes Online Community. I write to share my experiences of living with diabetes because it’s such an invisible thing to live with. Diabetes affects much more than blood glucose numbers and that’s important for people to understand.”

As a dietician have you mastered controlling highs and lows?

Graduation“Being a healthcare professional doesn’t exempt me from the rollercoaster that comes with diabetes. I still guess my carbs if I’m unsure of certain foods. I’m not perfect, I’m only human! And just because I’m a dietitian, doesn’t mean I survive on salads. It surprises people to know that I’m not a big fruit eater. It’s all about moderation.”

What is the best advice you would give to a newly diagnosed person? 

“Breathe. It’s not the end of the world. You can do this. You got this. And most importantly, you don’t have to get everything perfect. You are still allowed to make mistakes.”

What is your greatest accomplishment? 

“So many things on so many levels. Some days getting out of bed would be an achievement in itself. I guess doing developing my PhD topic and being able to work on it is one of my proudest achievements. I am extremely passionate in providing each person with diabetes appropriate education and resources to better cope with diabetes. I hope that my project will help to raise awareness of the different types of diabetes and integrate the type 1 and type 2 diabetes community as a whole a little bit better in terms of providing peer support.”

Read more by Ashley by following her blog bittersweetdiagnosis.com. You can also learn more about her on twitter @Health4Diabetes. If you are interested in guest blogging, contact us on twitter or read the contact info on the “About” page. 

Leave a Reply

