Jakob: Pursuing Dreams Despite Diabetes

kas_62499-1290-1-30_220 - Kopie

When were you diagnosed and with what type of diabetes?

When I was 16 years old I got diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes.

Has diabetes effected your schooling or career?

First, it has effected me negatively. I did not want to realize that this is a serious disease I constantly have to take care of. That’s why I did not do much sports, did not check my blood sugar regularly etc.

However, I still finished High School with good grades and I went to university afterwards. I studied Business Informatics and I also went on an Exchange Year in Sweden. When I was in Sweden I realized that I have to accept Diabetes as a part of my life. Only then, I can use my Diabetes to become the person I wanted to be. Generally speaking, I can only recommend everybody to spend at least a few month abroad in a different country or (even better) in a different continent. It is very mind opening and you will come home with a complete different view on life.

Jakob SchrögerHowever, when I started to accept Diabetes as a part of my life, I also started to realize that Diabetes actually helps you in many fields. It can help you to be more organized, more disciplined etc.

After Sweden, I went back to Austria and started to work on my own start-up QGo. Right now, I am working hard to get QGo successful and in my free-time I also work on my blog www.diabetesandbusiness.com

So far, I am doing well and I don’t think that Diabetes is effecting my career. In contrast, I believe that Diabetes can help me to become an extraordinary person.

Has there been a moment in your life when you were grateful for having diabetes?

That is hard to say if there is a moment when you are grateful to have a disease. I would say that there is no moment where I was happy to have Diabetes, but I am never really sad that I have it. I try to see it as an opportunity to make something great out of it! 

What is the best advice you would give to a newly diagnosed person? 

My advice is to always stay positive and optimistic. Even if you get diagnosed with a life-long disease, current treatments allow you to live an almost normal life. Moreover, if you stay positive and optimistic, you will still be able to achieve everything you want to achieve. There is always something you can be happy about!bf1b0d8365

What is your greatest accomplishment? 

My greatest accomplishment is a pitch in the national TV Show of Austria: 2 minutes, 2 million where I could successfully pitch my startup in front of investors.

Check out the link! http://www.puls4.com/video/2-minuten-2-millionen/play/2737425

Learn more about how Jakob has conquered his diabetes and created a remarkable business , QGo, by following his blog Diabetes Business. You can also follow him on twitter at  @DT1andBusiness

2 thoughts on “Jakob: Pursuing Dreams Despite Diabetes

Leave a Reply

