Robin: A Story Of Strength

Robin and Gov Island2

When were you diagnosed and with what type of diabetes?

“I was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes when I was six. Almost thirty years ago!”

What is your greatest daily struggle?

“My greatest daily struggle… If I weren’t writing these answers for a blog on diabetes, I don’t think diabetes would even come to mind for this question. I’d probably answer along the lines of: unfriendly co-workers, sprinting drill exercises, filing taxes/paying bills, or being on time.”

It’s not that diabetes is easy to live with. It challenges me physically, emotionally, and psychologically on a regular basis. It’s more that I try to avoid wasting time feeling sorry for myself about it. There’s no cure for T1D (at least, not yet!), so I accept the ups and downs as a part of being who I am. By staying upbeat and healthy, I’m able to keep diabetes from becoming a negative focus in my life.”

Have you found any positives about having diabetes?

“Yes, definitely! I appreciate that diabetes has made me a more emotionally resilient, physically stronger, and overall healthier person. For more on this, you can read my article, “Thanks, Diabetes!” at https://brightlyfe.wordpress.com/2015/04/10/thanks-diabetes/”Robin and CGM2

What is the best advice you would give to a newly diagnosed person? 

“You can do it. Learn as much as you can, work closely with your medical team, reach out to your support network. Do your best, and remember to forgive yourself when things don’t always work out perfectly.”

What is your greatest accomplishment? 

“It might be the fact that I’ve achieved a lifetime of triumphs, both large and small.

It’s so common for people to express regret as they age; trying to hold onto their youth and pretending they aren’t getting older. But for me, I don’t think I will ever feel this way. I did a good job of being a young person. I learned a lot and succeeded on so many journeys. And I’m proud to be where I am now.

I look at every birthday as a badge of success, because I’ve overcome so many obstacles to get here! I’ve demonstrated incredible strength, endurance, compassion, self awareness, and motivation over the years.

So I might say that turning 34 is my greatest accomplishment so far.”

Learn more about Robin by following her on twitter @Robinrjsmith or read her posts at http://www.lyfebulb.com/blog/ . If you would like to contribute to our “Humans of Diabetes” blog please see the contact info on our “about” page. 

Leave a Reply

