Doug: Conquering Marathons With Diabetes

cvB9QtRO

1. When were you diagnosed with diabetes?

“May 24th 1999, just under a month before my 21st birthday.”

2. What is your greatest daily struggle? 

“My greatest daily struggle is putting too much energy into what my #’s are too often. I find myself constantly looking at my pump display to see what my CGM is reading.”

-Wfol11D

3. What is your greatest accomplishment? 

“My greatest accomplishment is the first marathon I finished. I couldn’t run a quarter mile on February 1, 2011 and in October I ran my first marathon. It wasn’t pretty but I finished. Since then I’ve done 6 more and have another scheduled for 10/4.”

4. Have you found any positives about having diabetes? 

“I’ve meet a lot of great people because of my diabetes and when I say met I use that word loosely because I haven’ t met 99% of them.  A lot of great diabetics on Twitter, Facebook, and Blogs.”

5. What is the best advice you would give a newly diagnosed person? 

“Things happen, you go high and you go low but test 8-10 times a day and make the necessary adjustments. I hear too many stories of people who don’t test and run all day in the 300’s and to be honest I usually ran 250 when I was diagnosed.”

6. How does having diabetes affect your ability to train for marathons?

Doug and his niece conquering the toddler trot four years in a row!
Doug and his niece conquering the toddler trot four years in a row!

“Diabetes affects my ability to train for marathons because of the constant struggle in maintaining blood sugars. No two days are the same, this weekend I ran 9.5 miles the same as I did two weeks ago and during the run two weeks ago I ranged 70-90 and needed to consume 150 carbs during whereas this week I only needed 30 grams of carb. I figure the difference was the amount of insulin on board prior to my departure and what I set my temp basal at during my long run schedule. I have found it is helpful to document everything you do so you can try to mimic the result and attempt to repeat it in the future. I know I need to see a dietician and probably should do some sports education to learn more about what I can eat to help sustain normalized blood sugars for long run activity.”

 Learn more about Doug’s training and accomplishments by following his entertaining and inspiring blog sweatabetes.wordpress.com or stay connected with Doug through twitter @salguodmai

Leave a Reply

